Biological Sciences Department

Chairperson – Prof. C. Zvidza

Contact details
Cell: +263 78 414 8833

The Biological Sciences Department is one of the 9 departments in the Faculty of Science. The department is a major hub for life sciences research and teaching in the university. While the department hosts its own undergraduate programmes (Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Biological Sciences and Bachelor of Technology Honours Degree in Biotechnology) as well as postgraduate studies (Master of Science in Biodiversity Conservation and Master of Science in Applied Microbiology and Plant Pathology, MPhil and DPhil research), it is also one of the central service departments for the university’s Faculty of Science Education.

The department aspires to seek solutions to the grand challenges facing our world today, ranging from global climate change to human disease. To achieve this goal, we aim to provide high-level Biological Science literacy to our students through theory and practice, and to society through extension. Our research and teaching are focused in the following broad areas:

  • Biodiversity Conservation
  • Botany and Zoology
  • Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior
  • Genetics and Biotechnology
  • Microbiology and Plant Pathology
  • Molecular, Immunology and Cell Biology

Department of Biological Sciences seeks to be a hub of knowledge and beacon of excellence in teaching, research and extension services.

We seek to provide and promote personal and professional development to students and staff through excellence in teaching, research and extension service.

Core Values

  • Learning
  • Leadership
  • Integrity
  • Excellence
  • Student Centredness
  • Discipline
  • Commitment
  • Diligence